Image

Russian, Writing, and Responsibility

Fleur de Cirque

The problem with having each foot in a different world is that you are never completely part of either world. I suppose that can apply to countless situations, but the one on my mind is the peculiar plight of the bilingual.

It feels disingenuous to call it a “plight,” but while bilingualism is a gift in many ways, it also posses its own particular host of problems. As a bilingual, I recognize and am grateful for the happy accident of fate that has given me two languages at my disposal with very little effort on my part. Taking French as a freshman in college was a rude awakening for me. Learning a language was hard, and I wasn’t sure if I wanted to put in the effort required to converse with the locals on my someday trip to France. As someone who already spoke two languages, effortlessly acquiring a…

View original post 1,292 more words

Leave a Reply

